Governor Sanwo-olu submits commissioner-nominees’ list to Lagos Assembly

The Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Friday, sent the list of nominees for his cabinet to the State House Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The list sent to the Lagos State House of Assembly, contained 39 names, which has a mixture of politicians and technocrats. While some of the immediate past cabinet members returned, many did not return.

According to a tweet on Friday by the governor’s Chief Press Secretary, Gboyega Akosile.

“The list consists of 39 names with 30% women, youths, technocrats and politicians,” Akosile posted.

This came barely 24 hours after the Senate unveiled President Bola Tinubu’s list of proposed cabinet members.

The development is in line with the 1999 constitution as amended, which requires the president and governors to submit the names of persons nominated as ministers or commissioners within 60 days of taking the oath of office for confirmation by the Senate or state House of Assembly.

Sanwo-Olu’s counterparts from Ogun, Gombe, Plateau, Benue, Kwara, Adamawa, Kaduna and others have also submitted their list to the state House of Assembly.

Share this:

Comfort Samuel

I work with TV360 Nigeria, as a broadcast journalist, producer and reporter. I'm so passionate on what I do.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button