Gov. Sanwo-Olu proclaims Lagos 10th Assembly

Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu has proclaimed the 10th Assembly of the state for the commencement of Legislative duties on Monday.

The Lagos House of Assembly has a total of 40 members with the All Progressives Congress (APC) occupying 38 seats while Labour Party occupies two representing their various constituencies across the state.

Proclaiming the 10th Assembly, the governor said, “Members-elect, ladies and gentlemen, in the exercise of the powers conferred on me, I hereby proclaim the 10th Assembly of the LSHA.”

The ninth session of the Lagos State House of Assembly officially ended on Friday with the returning lawmakers and lawmakers-elect all declaring support for Mudashiru Obasa as Speaker of the 10th Assembly.

Speaking on behalf of the 20 first-term lawmakers-elect, Oladipo Olayinka Ajomale, who would represent Oshodi Isolo 2 at the 10th Assembly, said he and his colleagues have resolved to support Obasa as Speaker of the 10th Assembly.

“I can assure you that the 20 of us who are new are fully in support of Speaker Obasa for the 10th Assembly because we have learnt and understudied and we know that this is a man who has proven himself over and over again to be the best man for the job.

“Logically thinking about it, he is the most experienced in the House. So it doesn’t make sense for anyone to come and do trial by error. I stand with him fully and all of us who are new also support the Speaker to speak for us at the 10th Assembly,” he said.

Earlier, the Speaker had commended the ninth Assembly lawmakers for their support, which led to the passing of 46 bills, over 120 resolutions and a couple of regulations.

He also presented certificates of meritorious service to the members.

Share this:

TV360 Nigeria

Nigeria's first exclusive online television news channel. We strongly uphold journalistic principles of TRUTH, BALANCE & FAIRNESS in our reportage & we believe there is no one side to a story.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button