Wike, Adelabu, Umahi, others take oath of office as ministers


President Bola Tinubu has sworn in the confirmed 45 ministers-designate out of the 48 nominees sent by the President.

The Special Adviser to President Bola Tinubu on Media and Publicity, Aguri Ngelale, had read the citation of the Ministers, which was followed by their oaths-taking on Monday, August 21 at the Conference Centre of the State House, Abuja..

The oath of office was administered by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Olukayode Ariwoola.

The swearing-in ceremony comes less than a week after President Bola Tinubu released the portfolios for the ministerial nominees, which had former Rivers State, governor Nyesom Wike as the Minister of Federal Capital Territory and Festus Keyamo as Minister of Aviation.

In a call to action, President Bola Tinubu has urged the recently appointed ministers to collaborate with him and each other to fulfill the aspirations of the Nigerian people through their work in government.

Speaking at the event, “We are in this boat, even if it is a vehicle and I am the driver, the entire Nigerians are behind sitting and watching as you and I navigate this vehicle. We must hold each other responsible, we have to do the job to meet the expectations of all Nigerians.

“As I said earlier on, you are not a minister of a particular state, colony, region or ethnic nationality, you are a minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” President Tinubu said.

Also in his speech, the President reminded the newly-sworn Ministers that it is a high honour to be chosen to serve as a minister in the Federal Executive Council and also charged them with teamwork.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *