South Africa Join Bid To Host 2027 Women’s World Cup

A Monday statement by FIFA said the African nation which hosted the 2010 men’s World Cup – the only country in the continent to ever do such –  are among four other bids for the women’s tournament.

The African champions will battle Belgium who have a joint bid with the Netherlands and Germany. US and Mexico are also hoping to jointly host the competition.  Brazil are the other country proposing to stage the 2027 Women’s World Cup.

“The expressions of interest represent four confederations (CAF, Concacaf, CONMEBOL, and UEFA), and the remaining two (AFC and OFC) are hosting this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup™. This level of participation confirms the global appeal of the competition,” FIFA said.

“FIFA will now send the Bidding Agreement – a document necessary to ensure that the key principles of the bidding process are observed – to the interested MAs, which will have until 19 May 2023 to return it and confirm their involvement.”

The host(s) for the football fiesta will be decided on May 17, 2024, just weeks before the 2023 edition of the competition will start in Australia and New Zealand.

South Africa alongside Nigeria, Morocco, and Zambia are the continent’s representatives for the football showpiece.

Nigeria have participated in all editions of the competition since its inception in 1991, putting in their best performance – a last-eight finish – in 1999 when the US hosted.

Share this:

TV360 Nigeria

Nigeria's first exclusive online television news channel. We strongly uphold journalistic principles of TRUTH, BALANCE & FAIRNESS in our reportage & we believe there is no one side to a story.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *