Seyi Makinde re-elected as Oyo Governor

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday declared Oyo State Governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Seyi Makinde, as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

Makinde won the election after defeating his closest rival, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress, by a wide margin.

He polled 563,756 votes to beat his close rival Teslim Folarin of All Progressive Congress who scored 256,685 votes, while Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party came a distant third with 38,357 votes.

Makinde won 31 out of the 33 local government areas in the state, while Folarin came second by winning two local governments of Irepo and Ore-lope.

“That, Makinde Oluseyi having satisfied the requirement of the law is declared winner of the poll,” The state Returning Officer, Olusola Kehinde, said.

Satisfied with the turnout of voters and the relatively peaceful atmosphere across the state during the poll, Makinde thanked the people of Oyo for believing and re-electing him.

Makinde will be sworn into office on May 29 this year to oversee the affairs of the state for the next four years.

Share this:

TV360 Nigeria

Nigeria's first exclusive online television news channel. We strongly uphold journalistic principles of TRUTH, BALANCE & FAIRNESS in our reportage & we believe there is no one side to a story.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button