Senate screens ten nominees for INEC RECs

The Senate has commenced the screening of newly nominated candidates for the position of Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Senate President, Senator Godswill Akpabio, during plenary on Wednesday, announced President Bola Tinubu’s request for confirmation of the nomination of the RECs for INEC in accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1) of the Constitution.

The RECs commissioners were appointed to serve for a five year term each, pending their confirmation by the Senate.

They are Etekamba Umoren (Akwa Ibom) Isah Shaka Ehimeakne (Edo) Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti) Abubakar Ahmed Ma’aji (Gombe) Shehu Wahab (Kwara) Mohammed Yelwa (Niger).

Others are Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers), Isma’ila Kaura Moyi (Zamfara), Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos) and Aminu Kasimu Idris (Nasarawa).

They will be posted to states other than their state of origin if confirmed by the upper legislative chamber.

Share this:

Comfort Samuel

I work with TV360 Nigeria, as a broadcast journalist, producer and reporter. I'm so passionate on what I do.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *