PDP’s Seyi Makinde wins 17 of 18 Local Govts in Oyo, 15 more to go

Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, is in the early lead in the March 18 poll conducted in the South-West state with victory in 17 of the 18 local government election results announced so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Makinde also won at the polling unit of Accord governorship candidate, Adebayo Adelabu.

Makinde of PDP polled 60 to Adelabu’s 38 votes to defeat the Accord candidate at his polling unit, where APC’s Teslim Folarin scored 22 votes.

For the state House of Assembly election, the PDP candidate scored 160 votes, APC scored 30 votes, Accord had nine votes and LP polled five votes.

Makinde, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), is seeking reelection after his four-year term.

He is seeking reelection with 15 others including Labour Party (LP)’s Akinwale Tayo as well as a serving senator, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Makinde won 17 of the LGs announced so far while Folarinn won one.

Makinde is the last of the PDP G5 or Integrity Group with an election.

Already, Governors Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu) and Samuel Ortom (Benue), who have been in office for eight years each, all lost their senatorial bid while Nyesom Wike (Rivers) who is also completing his second term as Governor didn’t run for any elective post.


Share this:

TV360 Nigeria

Nigeria's first exclusive online television news channel. We strongly uphold journalistic principles of TRUTH, BALANCE & FAIRNESS in our reportage & we believe there is no one side to a story.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *