PDP’s Kefas Agbu emerges Taraba Governor-Elect


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Kefas Agbu the winner of the Taraba State governorship election.

The state Returning Officer Prof M.A. Abdulazeez declared Agbu the winner in the early hours of Tuesday, after finding his win in fulfilment of the requirements to be named the governor-elect.

Agbu, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), scored 257,926 votes to defeat the candidate of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), Muhammad Yahaya, who polled 202,277.

In third place, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Emmanuel Bwacha, garnered 142,502 ballots.

The governor-elect, Agbu, who described his victory as a triumph of the people’s will, urged all contestants to get on board to build a Taraba of the future.

Meanwhile, Governor Darius Ishaku congratulated the governor-elect, adding that he looked forward to handing over to another PDP governor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *