Nigeria’s Supreme Court attains full complement of 21 as CJN swears in 11 new justices

For the first time in its history, the Supreme Court has attained its full complement of 21 justices, following the swearing-in of 11 justices recently appointed by President Bola Tinubu.

According to Section 230 (2) (b) of the 1999 constitution, “The Supreme Court of Nigeria shall consist of such number of justices not exceeding 21 as may be prescribed by an Act of the National Assembly.”

However, this requirement over the years appeared difficult to meet, leading the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola and others concluding that the apex court was “jinxed” not to meet the requirement.

Before their swearing-in on Monday, the apex court bench consisted of just 10 justices, which was the lowest ever.

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony which was held at the headquarters of the apex court in Abuja, the CJN remarked that the occasion was unprecedented in the annals of the Nigerian Supreme Court.

The justices sworn in include Jummai Sankey, Chidiebere Uwa, Chioma Nwosu-Iheme, Haruna Tsammani and  Moore Adumein.

Others are Obande Ogbuinya, Stephen Adah, Habeeb Abiru, Jamilu Tukur, Abubakar Umar, and Mohammed Idris.

According to Ariwoola, the new justices are coming to join the Supreme Court Bench at a time when the rank had been grossly depleted to an all-time low of 10 justices for a number of reasons, mainly retirement and deaths.

He therefore urged them to put in their best as seasoned judicial officers transiting from the Court of Appeal and had established remarkable acquaintances with judicial oath and roles guiding the conduct of judicial officers.


Share this:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *