INEC declares Makinde winner of Oyo governorship election


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde winner of the governorship election in the state.

Adebayo Bamire, INEC returning officer for the Oyo governorship election, announced the final result on Sunday.

Makinde secured 563,756 votes to clinch victory, while Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came second with 256,685 votes. Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord came a distant third polling 38,757.

Makinde is the last of the PDP G5 or Integrity Group with an election.

Already, Governors Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu) and Samuel Ortom (Benue), who have been in office for eight years each, all lost their senatorial bid while Nyesom Wike of Rivers state, who is also completing his second term as Governor didn’t run for any elective post.

With his re-election, the governor has been handed another term of four years to pilot the affairs of the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *