Euro 2024: Haaland, Rashford, 20 other big stars to miss out

The football championship, scheduled to take place in Germany from June 14 to July 14, 2024, is generating excitement as the UEFA Euro 2024 competition draws near.

While the competition is expected to display the finest players in Europe, a number of well-known players will be conspicuously absent because of various circumstances, such as their managers benching them or their countries’ failure to qualify.

Norwegian prodigy Erling Haaland, one of the most prolific strikers in international football, is at the top of the list of elite players who will miss Euro 2024. Fans keenly anticipating their possible effect on the grand stage will surely be disappointed by Haaland’s and fellow countryman Martin Odegaard’s absence.

England, despite their rich talent pool, will be without the services of Marcus Rashford, Jack Grealish, Reece James, Harry Maguire, James Maddison, Jadon Sancho and Ben White, as head coach Gareth Southgate named his final team omitting them.

Germany, the host nation, will also be missing some key figures, with Mats Hummels and Serge Gnabry absent.

Other notable absentees include Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois, France’s Lucas Hernandez and Christopher Nkunku, Spain’s Pablo Gavi, Austria’s David Alaba, Italy’s Sandro Tonali, Portugal’s Raphael Guerreiro, and Sweden’s Alexander Isak.

Despite the absence of these stars, the Euro 2024 tournament is set to be a thrilling spectacle.

As the host nation, Germany will be eager to impress on home soil, having secured the right to host the prestigious event in 2018, beating out a rival bid from Turkey in a decision seen as favouring a “safer” option.

The tournament is set to kick off in Munich on June 14 and culminate with the final in Berlin on July 14.

Full List of absentee include;

  1. Erling Haaland (Norway)
  2. Marcus Rashford (England)
  3. Jack Grealish (England)
  4. Reece James (England)
  5. Mats Hummels (Germany)
  6. Martin Odegaard (Norway)
  7. Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)
  8. Harry Maguire (England)
  9. Lucas Hernandez (France)
  10. James Maddison (England)
  11. Pablo Gavi (Spain)
  12. Serge Gnabry (Germany)
  13. David Alaba (Austria)
  14. Jadon Sancho (England)
  15. Christopher Nkunku (France)
  16. Leon Goretzka (Germany)
  17. Sandro Tonali (ltaly)
  18. Ben White (England)
  19. Raphael Guerreiro (Portugal)
  20. Alexander lsak (Sweden)
Share this:

Sydney Okafor

I am so passionate about this my profession as a broadcast journalist and voiceover artists and presently a reporter at TV360 Nigeria

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *