Abiye wins 2023 Lagos Women Marathon for second time

Joy Abiye of Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) has emerged winner of the 2023 Lagos Women Run for the second time.

The Nigeria Security personnel returned a time of 33:41:4 to win the 10km Lagos Women Run 2021 and received the cash prize of N1 million.

The 8th edition, which has over 50,000 women from all over the world registering for the event, was flagged-off at 7.00 a.m. at Tafawa Balewa Square (TBS) and finished at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, running the loop of Lagos Island and part of Victoria Island to end at the stadium.

On winning the race the second time, Abiye said she was excited about the win.

“I am very excited winning again because I trained well for this and prepare myself mentally.

“I was unable to win last year and I subsequently came fourth because I had injury. But this year I gave myself to it and thank God I won,” she said.

Coming second is the veteran long distance runner, Deborah Pam, from Plateau, also the winner of the local marathoners at the 2023 Access Bank Lagos City Marathon.

Her compatriots from Plateau, Patience Dalyop, came third, while Elizabeth Nuhu came fourth; and another veteran, Vera Yohanna, came fifth.



Share this:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *