27 Rivers Assembly Lawmakers Dump PDP For APC

The ongoing political drama in Rivers State has taken a very interesting turn as 27 members of the Rivers State House of Assembly have defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

A member of the Assembly, Enemi George, confirmed to newsmen that the 27 lawmakers were under the leadership of Martin Amaewhule.

The defection announcement happened during Monday’s sitting at the House.

They were all members of the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) before the defection, but they had been embroiled in a conflict with other members of the 32-member House, leading to a split of the legislature into two.

The other members of the Assembly are supporters of Governor Siminalayi Fubara who is locked in a political battle with his predecessor and erstwhile godfather, Wike.

Share this:

Comfort Samuel

I work with TV360 Nigeria, as a broadcast journalist, producer and reporter. I'm so passionate on what I do.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *