Yahaya Bello wins Kogi Governorship election


Incumbent Kogi state governor and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Yahaya Bello, has been declared the winner of the Saturday governorship in the state.

Bello’s victory was announced by  Ibrahim Umar, the Returning Officer for the election and Vice-Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria.

According to Umar, the APC candidate polled a total of 406,222 votes to beat his closest rival, Musa Wada of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 189,704 votes.

On her part, the candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Natasha Akpoti, garnered a total of 9,482 votes.

Announcing the final results of the election, the returning officer noted that a total of 1,646,350 people registered for the election while 636,202 were accredited to vote.

He explained that the margin between the winner of the election and the runner-up was 216,518 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *