UK warns citizens against visiting 21 states in Nigeria


In the wake of increasing attacks and kidnappings in some states across Nigeria, the foreign and commonwealth office of the United Kingdom has advised its citizens against travelling to 21 states in the west African country.

In a statement published on its website, the FCO said “terrorists” are likely going to carry out attacks in Borno, Yobe, Adamawa, Gombe, Bauchi, Zamfara, Kano, Kaduna, Jigawa, Katsina, Kogi and Niger states respectively.

Other states listed in the statement are Sokoto, Kebbi, Plateau Abia, Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Cross River and within 20 kilometres of the border with Niger in Zamfara.

The FCO also urged the citizens to avoid places where crowds gather, including political meetings, religious gatherings and places of worship, markets, shopping malls, hotels, bars, restaurants, transport hubs and camps for displaced people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.