Senate Sets up conference Committee on Electoral Act Amendment Bill


President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, has set up a seven-member conference committee to harmonize positions on the Electoral Act Amendments Bill.

Lawan who announced this Wednesday during plenary, said that the committee is to meet with the House of Representatives to harmonise the differences in the bill passed by both chambers in July.

The team is to be led by Kebbi north Senator Yahaya Abdullahi.

Other members of the committee are Kabiru Gaya (North-west), Ajibola Basiru (South-west) and Danjuma Goje (North-east), Uche Ekwunife (South-east), Sani Musa (North-central) and Matthew Urhoghide (South-south).

The Electoral Act Amendments Bill seeks to resolve issues concerning introduction of modern technologies into the electoral process by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), particularly accreditation of voters, electronic voting and electronic transmission of results from polling units.

The Senate passed the bill into law on July 15 amid controversies on section 52 of the Bill.

Particularly, the amended clause 52(3) which requires confirmation of the Nigeria Communications Commission on the adequacy of network to determine electronic voting was a subject controversy in the upper and lower legislative Chambers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.