Senate confirms Buratai, other ex-service chiefs as ambassadors


The Senate has confirmed the appointment of former service chiefs as non-career ambassadors-designate.

They are former Chief of Defence Staff, Abayomi Olonisakin (Ekiti), the former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai (Borno); and the former Chief of Naval Staff, Ibok-Ete Ibas (Cross River).

Others are former Chief of Air Staff, Sadique Abubakar (Bauchi); and former Chief of Defence Intelligence Muhammad S. Usman (Kano).

Their confirmation followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Mohammed Bulkachuwa.

The Senate Minority Leader Enyinaya Abaribe, however, questioned the nomination and confirmation of the ex-service chiefs when the Senate had on three different occasions called for their sack.

Senator Abaribe also questioned why the petitions against the former service chiefs were dismissed without explanations.

However,  Senate President Ahmad Lawan dismissed Abaribe’s concerns, saying it lacked merit. Lawan, thereafter, stopped any further debate on the matter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *