Sanwo-Olu appoints eight High Court judges


Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has appointed eight new judges of the High Court of Lagos on Tuesday.

The eight judges took the oath before the Governor and members of the State’s cabinet at a swearing-in held in the Executive Council chamber in the State House, Alausa.

The judges sworn in are Justice Dorcas Olatokun, Justice Yahqub Oshoala, Justice Omotola Oguntade and Justice Olufunke Sule-Amzat.

Others are Justice Rasul Olukolu, Justice Sharafa Olaitan, Justice Ezekiel Ashade and Justice Adeniyi Pokanu.

Governor Sanwo-Olu charged the judges to dispense justice without fear or favour, advising them not uphold their reputation in the discharge of their duties.

“I congratulate our newly sworn-in Honorable Justices and we believe you all have what it takes to be fair and equitable in dispensation of justice to our citizens. By being sworn in as judges, you have brought honour to your family names. However, you must ensure that your names are not tarnished in the course of discharging your duty,” Sanwo-Olu said.

The governor also noted the important role of the judicial system in the face of the ongoing global pandemic, urging judicial officers not to let the fight against COVID-19 hinder the dispensation of justice in the state.

“In this period of public health emergency, we need the judiciary to keep the wheel of the justice system moving. The administration of justice system must not be halted because of the health crisis.

“Our judicial should fully adapt to the evolving culture and be at the services of those who seek redress and justice at the court,” Sanwo-Olu said.

Justice Dorcas Olatokun, who spoke on behalf of the appointed judges, appreciated Governor Sanwo-Olu for finding them worthy of the appointment, which she described as a “unique privilege” to contribute their quota in deepening justice system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *