Over 40 lawmakers withdraw support for Sri Lanka Government


More than 40 members of the parliament from Sri Lanka’s ruling coalition have withdrawn their support for the government, a day after mass protests prompted the entire Cabinet to resign.

The South Asian island nation was rocked again by protests for a third consecutive day over rising prices and shortages of food, fuel, and gas.

The demonstrators were demanding President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s resignation and that a new election is held.

Meanwhile, On Tuesday, dozens of lawmakers that formerly represented the government said that they were now independent.

That means the ruling Sri Lanka Peoples Party effectively lost its two-thirds majority in the 225-seat parliament and was on the verge of turning into a minority government.

However, a vote still needed to be taken in parliament to establish whether the ruling party had a minimum majority, which would be over 113 members.

The move came a day after Rajapaksa was forced to reshuffle the cabinet after all ministers tendered their resignations.

The president had so far named four ministers, including a new finance minister to replace Rajapaksa’s brother, Basil Rajapaksa.

But less than 24 hours after the new Finance Minister, Ali Sabry, took up the post, he resigned, plunging the country into further uncertainty.




Abisola Adebayo is a Reporter/Presenter/Social Media Manager for Tv360Nigeria. She is a first class graduate of the department of Mass Communication at Fountain University, Osogbo. Abisola is currently running her Masters Degree at the University of Lagos. The Social Media savvy young lady is ambitious and driven, likes trying new things and sets new goals for herself. Always looking for an opportunity to do better and achieve greatness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.