Ninth Assembly: Senate names principal officers


Yahaya Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi) has been named Senate leader while Ajayi Borrofice (APC, Ondo) was named the Senate deputy leader.

Meanwhile, Forner Governor of Abia State, Orji Uzor Kalu, is the new chief whip and Aliyu Abdullahi (APC, Niger) is the deputy chief whip.

Senate President Ahmed Lawan announced this as he read out separate letters from the All Progressive Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at plenary on Tuesday.

The letters from the chairmen of both parties stated that the new principal officers for majority and minority positions were unanimously nominated.

other principal officers include; senator representing Abia Central, Enyinnaya Abaribe, who was appointed the minority leader while Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP, Taraba) was named the deputy minority leader.

Meanwhile, FCT senator, Philip Aduda, retains his position as minority whip and Sahabi Yau (PDP, Zamfara) is the deputy minority whip.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *