Lawan swears in Olujimi as Senator


Senate president, Ahmad Lawan has administered the oath of office on Senator Biodun Olujimi as Senator representing Ekiti South Senatorial District.

Senator Olujimi will replace the former Senate Spokesperson, Adedayo Adeyeye, whose election was nullified by both the Ekiti State Election Petitions Tribunal and the Court of Appeal sitting in Kaduna recently.

The Clerk of the Senate, Nelson Ayewoh on the directive of the senate president administered the Oath of Office and Oath of Allegiance on Senator Biodun Olujimi to represent Ekiti South Senatorial District.

The Court of Appeal in Akure had on November 6 nullified the victory of Senator Adedayo Adeyeye and declared Olujimi, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the Ekiti South Senatorial election conducted on February 23, 2019.

Lawan congratulated and welcomed Senator Olujimi who was a Minority Leader in the Eight Senate back to the Upper Chamber.

“I want to congratulate and welcome Senator Biodun Christine Olujimi, the former Minority Leader in the Eight Senate back to the Senate.

“With her swearing-in this morning, we now have eight very solid female senators in the ninth Senate.

“We pray that this addition will bring more productivity and stability in the ninth Senate.

“We hope that it will also bring unity and more focus for us to do only those things that will bring development, peace and progress to Nigeria,” Lawan said.

With this recent development, PDP now has 45 Senators in the Senate while the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Young Progressives Party (YPP) have 63 and one Senators respectively.

Other female members of the ninth Senate include Senators Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central), Rose Oko (Cross River North), Betty Apiafi (Rivers West), Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (Adamawa Central), Uche Ekwunife (Anambra Central), Akon Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom South) and Stella Oduah (Anambra North).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *