Lawan, Omo-Agege elected Senate President, Deputy


A total of 107 senators have been inaugurated into the ninth National Assembly.

The lawmakers were inaugurated after taking an oath of allegiance administered to them by Mohammed Sani-Omolori, clerk of the National Assembly.

Before their inauguration, the lawmakers selected presiding officers; Senate President and Deputy Senate President.

For the position of Senate President, Ahmed Lawan and Ali Ndume were nominated by fellow lawmakers elect.

Following their nomination, lawmakers then proceeded to voting for the candidate of their choice through open ballot voting.

At the end of the voting exercise, Lawan polled a total of 79 votes while Ndume garnered 28 votes only.

Lawan was thereafter declared winner of the exercise and pronounced Senate President, by the clerk of the National Assembly, Sani-Omolori.

Also, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege was elected deputy Senate President, after he defeated opposition candidate and former deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu.

Lawan and Omo-agege are members of the ruling All progressives congress, APC which makes up more than fifty percent of the entire 109 slots in the Senate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *