Kano Assembly elects new Speaker


The Kano State House of Assembly has elected Hamisu Chidari as the new speaker following the resignation of his predecessor.

Chidari emerged speaker following his nomination by the lawmaker representing Wudil constituency in the Assembly, Abdullahi Achika.

The House also elected the lawmaker representing Albasu constituency, Zubairu Masu, as deputy speaker, Labaran Madari (Warawa constituency) as majority leader and Abdullahi Yaryasa (Tudunwada) as deputy majority leader.

This development follows the resignation of the immediate past speaker House of Assembly, Abdulaziz Gafasa, and two other principal officers – majority leader of the House Kabiru Dashi, and his deputy, Tasiu Zabainawa.

Gafasa conveyed his decision through a letter to the Clerk of the House, dated December 14.
The speaker did not state the reason for his resignation in the letter.

Abisola Adebayo is a Reporter/Presenter/Social Media Manager for Tv360Nigeria. She is a first class graduate of the department of Mass Communication at Fountain University, Osogbo. Abisola is currently running her Masters Degree at the University of Lagos. The Social Media savvy young lady is ambitious and driven, likes trying new things and sets new goals for herself. Always looking for an opportunity to do better and achieve greatness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.