INEC releases final list of candidates for Ekiti governorship poll


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list of candidates eligible to participate in the June 18 governorship election in Ekiti State.

In a statement signed on Monday by the National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye, said the list was released in compliance with the Electoral Act 2022 and following the close of nominations by political parties.

He added that the development was sequel to the publication of the personal particulars of the candidates last month.

“The Commission wishes to remind political parties that under Section 32(2) of the Electoral Act 2022, any party that observes that the name of its candidate is missing from the list “shall notify the Commission in writing, signed by its National Chairman and Secretary, supported with an affidavit not later than 90 days to the election,” Okoye said.

“Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to Section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, which provides that failure to notify the Commission “shall not be ground to invalidate the election”.

“The final list is published in our State and Local Government offices in Ekiti State as well as our website and social media platforms for public information as required by law.

“Political parties are enjoined to note the provision of the law for compliance.”

The list showed Abiodun Oyebanji was cleared as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with Afuye Monisade as his running mate.

The APC candidate will slug it out with Olabisi Kolawole of People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who has Kolapo Olugbenga Kolade as his deputy.

In total, candidates nominated by 16 political parties will participate in the governorship poll.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.