IMF approves aid for world’s 28 poorest countries


Twenty-eight of the world’s poorest countries are set to receive the second tranche of aid from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The approval, which follows a similar approval in mid-April for 25 countries, is intended to help the countries alleviate their debt and better cope with the impact of the coronavirus pandemic.

The 28 countries receiving the second tranche of aid are Afghanistan, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, the Solomon Islands, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo and Yemen.

According to the IMF, Mali is also eligible for aid but has not yet been added to the list because “there is a lack of clarity as to whether the international community recognizes/deals with the current military regime as the government of Mali”.

The debt relief is channelled through the Catastrophe Containment and Relief Trust (CCRT), which enables the IMF to provide grants to the poorest and most vulnerable countries hit by a natural disaster or public health crisis.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *