Health Journalists Elect New ANHEJ Officials


The Association of Nigeria Health Journalists (ANHEJ) now has a new set of Executives to pilot the affairs of the Association for the next couple of years.

At a keenly contested election on Friday, September 12 in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital city, Joseph Kadiri, the Health Correspondent for Independent Television (ITV), emerged as the duly elected President of the Association.

In his inaugural speech, the new Sheriff in town, Kadiri was enthused by the overwhelming confidence the Association members reposed in him and his team.

He pledged the unwavering resolve of his Executive to work assiduously and dispassionately with the intention to hit the height expected of the Association.

While he conceded that information sharing among members constitutes a perennial problem, he, however, assured that access to information would play a telling role to enable members effectively discharge their responsibilities to their various organizations.

“We thank and appreciate you all for finding us worthy to lead you. We assure you that we shall be diligent in carrying out our responsibilities.

“We will work to ensure that you get prompt information to aid your reportage at all times.

“We humbly request that you give us your maximum support to enable us to succeed,” he stated.

He expressed his gratitude to the immediate past President of the Association, Hassan Zaggi, of The Authority Newspapers, and the former President, Marcus Fatunmole of The ICIR, as well as the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Onyebuchi Ezigbo of Thisday Newspapers, for their focal roles towards ensuring free, fair and credible elections.

Elected officers are Rachael Abuja of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Vice President; and Frank Ajufo of Vision FM, Secretary.

Others are Yecenu Sasetu of Kiss FM, Treasurer; Uche Ugochukwu of NTA, Financial Secretary; and Kazeem Biriowo of Tribune Newspapers, the Welfare/PRO.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *