FG Inaugurates EFCC Board, urges members to “eschew corruption”


The Federal Government has inaugurated a 23-member governing board of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, inaugurated the board in Abuja on Thursday, asking members to put in their best to combat financial and economic crimes in Nigeria.

He congratulated the board members on their appointment, and urged them to work towards policies that will contribute significantly to the fight against corruption.

He noted that the board members are creations of the enabling statutes of the various institutions, with the main responsibility of giving policy direction to the commission’s management.

In June 2021, President Muhammadu Buhari had constituted the EFCC board — the anti-graft agency had been without a board since 2015 when the present administration came into power.

EFCC Chairman, AbdulRasheed Bawa, who is also the chairman of the board, noted that the commission had been without a board for six years sequel to series of events that warranted its non-existence.

He said the board would help the EFCC spearhead the policy direction on the huge challenges it was currently facing in fighting crimes in the country.

“EFCC has managed to set a new record in terms of recovery as well as conviction. Last year alone, we recorded 2,220 convictions, which were the highest ever recorded within one calendar year by EFCC,” Bawa said.

Members of the board are: Luqman Muhammad, Anumba Adaeze, Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina, and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad.

Institutional representatives are Haruna Nuhu Koko (DSS), Reginald Chukwudi Karawusa (Security and Exchange Commission), Pius Agboola (National Insurance Commission), Salisu Abdu (Nigerian Communications Commission), Nwakaego Celine Nwajei (Nigerian Postal Service), Justine Nidiya (Corporate Affairs Commission), U.G Mohammed (Nigeria Customs Service), Muhammed Aminu Muhammed (Nigerian Immigration Service), Umar Maman Sanda (Nigeria Police Force), Emmanuel Andrew Naman (National Intelligence Agency) and Ibrahim Abdul (National Drug Law Enforcement Agency).

Others are Gabriel Christopher (Federal Ministry of Finance), Adamu Shaibu (Ministry of Foreign Affairs), Jeremiah Abue (Central Bank of Nigeria), Galadima Yusufari Gana (Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation); while a representative of the Ministry of Justice, George Abang Ekpungu, is the secretary to the commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *