FEC honours Kaduna train attack victims, observes one minute silence


The Federal Executive Council (FEC) presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari has observed a minute silence in honor of victims of the Abuja-Kaduna train attack.

At the start of the meeting, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, called for a minute of silence for the eight departed souls which included a Medical Doctor, Chinelo Megafu, secretary-general of the Trade Union Congress, Musa-Lawal Ozigi, Kwara state chairman of TUC, Akin Akinsola, among others.

Those in attendance at the FEC meeting are the Vice-President professor Yemi Osinbajo, the Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, National Security Adviser, Maj Gen, Babagana Monguno (retd), and the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Dr Folashade Yemi-Esan

Other cabinet members physically attending the meeting are Ministers of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, Finance, Budget and National Planning, Dr. Zainab Ahmed, and Justice, Abubakar Malami, Health, Dr. Ehanire Osagie, Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, Industry, Trade and Investment, Niyi Adebayo, Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Sadiya Umar-Faroq.

Others are Minister of Labour and Employment Festus Keyamo, Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar while other ministers are attending virtually from their various offices.

The rail attack happened around on Monday night at Dutse village in Chikun Local Government Area, just a few kilometres from the Rigasa train station, which is the last transit point of the train.

The bandits were said to have opened fire, shot sporadically on the train, and later gained access into the train.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.