Edo Governorship: APC names primary election, appeal committees


The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has affirmed Senator Abiola Ajimobi as the Party’s Acting National Chairman.

The National Publicity Secretary of the APC, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu disclosed this in a statement on Wednesday.

Onilu said due to Sen. Ajimobi’s unavoidable absence, the NWC unanimously appointed the Party’s National Vice Chairman (South-South), Prince Hilliard Etta to act on Sen. Ajimobi’s behalf.

According to the APC spokesman, this action was backed by the Party’s constitution which empowers the NWC to appoint one of its members in an acting capacity and stipulates that the acting National chairman must be from the zone of the National Chairman.

Also, committees for the Party’s Edo State Governorship Primary Election scheduled for Monday 22nd June 2020, and Election Appeal scheduled for Wednesday 24th June 2020 were also named by the party.

The members of the Primary Election Committee include:

1. Governor of Imo State, Sen. Hope Uzodinma – Chairman
2. Sen. Ajibola Bashiru – Secretary
3. Alh. Abdullahi Abass
4. Hon. Ibrahim Sabo
5. Hon. Ocho Obioma
6. Hajia Amina Lantana Muhammed
7. Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye

Primary Election Appeal
1. Prof. Mustapha Bello – Chairman
2. Dr. Kayode Ajulo – Secretary
3. Hon. Umar Ahmed
4. Nasiru Ibrahim Junju
5. Hon. Rasaq Mahmud Bamu

The party also noted the recent ruling of a High Court which declared Hon. Igo Aguma as the Party’s acting chairman in Rivers State. In compliance with the court ruling, our party has recognised Aguma as Rivers State acting Chairman pending when new congresses will be held to elect party executive members at the ward, local government, and state levels.

Sixteen members of the NWC attended the meeting held at the Party’s National Secretariat (13 members attended physically and three others joined the meeting online).

One thought on “Edo Governorship: APC names primary election, appeal committees

  1. AvatarDr Pat Kolawole Awosan

    APC, national working committee, members, must thread carefully, to avoid evil- and dubious-elements, like some disgruntle elements, who claimed to be acting national chairman of APC, who says governor Godwin Obaseki, who has quit being member, of APC,Edo State,remains APC 2020-gubernatorial candidate? Comrade Adam Oshiomole, must instruct his lawyers, to file an appeal, against the federal appeal judgement, removing hims as APC national chairman. Some justice/judges, are being influenced with huge bribes,to destroy good work of the APC national chairman,comrade Adam Oshiomole, by ruling to support Godwin Obaseki,s wish.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *