Coronavirus: FG yet to place travel ban on any country – Minister


Minister of Health, Dr Osagie Ehanire says the Federal Government has not placed any travel ban on any country.

The Minister revealed this on Thursday in Abuja during a conference with the diplomatic community about measures taken by the Federal Government to tackle the spread of Covid-19 in Nigeria.

Ehanire warned Nigerian citizens from travelling to endemic countries including China, Japan, Italy, South Korea, and Iran.

He added that returnees from those countries will be quarantined for 14 days to ensure the safety of citizens.

The conference with the diplomatic community is hosted by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama.

Also in attendance is the Director-General of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), Chikwe Ihekweazu, officials of the Nigeria immigration services and members of the diplomatic corps.

Meanwhile, US President Donald Trump announced a shock 30-day ban on travel from mainland Europe over the coronavirus pandemic.

The World Health Organization also sounded another global alarm bell on Wednesday, officially classifying the virus as a pandemic that has infected more than 124,000 people with 4,500 deaths, according to an AFP tally.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.