Buhari reconstitutes NBET board, appoints Zainab Ahmed as Chairman


President Muhammadu Buhari has reconstituted the Board of Directors of the Nigeria Bulk Electricity Trading Company Plc (NBET).

The Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning announced this in a statement on Thursday.

Chairman of the board is Zainab Ahmed, Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning: while the non–Executive Director, is the Director General of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), Alex Okoh.

The newly appointed director and Head of the Internal Affairs & Efficiency Department of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), Suleyman Ndanusa, was also named an independent non-Executive Director of the Board. Mr Ndanusa is former Director-General of Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

The former President of the Nigeria Society of Engineers (NSE), Mustapha Balarabe Shehu and Adeyeye Adepegba were also appointed independent non-Executive Directors, along with the Managing Director/Chief Executive of NBET, Marilyn Amobi.

All the appointments take immediate effect.

NBET is a public limited liability firm owned 100 per cent by the Federal Government charged with the responsibility of serving as the manager and administrator of the electricity pool in the Nigerian Electricity Supply Industry (NESI).

Aneta Felix

Aneta Felix is a seasoned broadcast journalist and versatile content producer with an interest in reporting on human and gender rights, insecurity, corruption, and development among others. She has over five years of progressive experience, working across online, radio, and TV platforms, reporting the Boko Haram insurgency in Adamawa state, covering elections across the country and interviewing CEOs of multi-million dollar companies. Aneta is also the producer and presenter of the business documentary program, Startups, on TV360 Nigeria. She is a graduate of International Studies and Diplomacy from the University of Benin and is based in Lagos Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *