Ademola Adeleke wins Osun governorship election.


It is victory at last for Ademola Adeleke, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who has been declared the winner of the Osun governorship election.

The returning officer for the state, Toyin Ogundipe, announced the result of the election on Sunday morning.

“I declare that Adeleke Jackson Nurudeen Ademola of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected,” Ogundipe said.

Adeleke won the election nearly four years after failing, by a small margin, in his bid to govern Osun State,

Senator Adeleke, 62, riding on the back of a campaign aimed at developing the state and retrieving what he says is his stolen mandate, secured 403,371 votes, 28,344 more than his closest rival, the incumbent governor. Governor Oyetola polled 375,027 votes.

The PDP candidate won 17 LGAs while the incumbent governor secured victory in 13 LGAs.

Kehinde Atanda of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) placed a distant third with 10,104 votes while Yusuf Lasun of the Labour Party (LP) had 2729 votes.

Votes for the other candidates are as follows: Akinade Ogunbiyi, A party — 4,514 votes; Awojide Segun, AAC — 2,148; Awoyemi Lukuman, APM — 1,222; and Adebayo Elisha, APP — 601 votes.

Adeleke Adedapo of BP got 374 votes; Rasaq Saliu, NNPP — 393; Abede Samuel, NRM — 777; Ayowole Adedeji, PRP — 1,007; Omigbodun Akinrinola, SDP — 515; Ademola Adeseye, YPP — 1,303; and Adesuyi Olufemi, ZLP — 364 votes.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.