2023 Election: President Buhari directs ministers with political ambition to resign


All members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) with the ambition of contesting for elective offices in the 2023 elections have been directed to submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday, May 16, 2022.

President Muhammadu Buhari gave this directive at the end of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting on Wednesday.

Giving the details of the President’s orders, the Minister of information and Culture, Lai Mohammed stressed that this mandate excludes the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

Those affected are Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Justice and Attorney General, Abubakar Malami, who have joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for governorship position in Abia State, the Minister of Women Affairs, Paulline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

The minister added that he did not have the mandate to talk on the fate of other political appointees who are also vying for elective positions, but are not members of the cabinet.

Details later…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.